It’s time for December’s Day in the Life! How time flies!

I got up at 6am, when the cats jumped on my head. Stumbled into the kitchen and fed them.

DSCF0799

As almost every morning, took my favorite mug (neurotic?) out of the dishwasher and hand washed it. Made english breakfast tea with milk.

DSCF0802

Sat down with Gogo on my lap to drink it and answer a few emails.

DSCF0806

Opened the first door on the 19th century replica advent calendar that my mom sent.

DSCF0800

Saw there was a text from my friend Gill in Oxford (yay), and we had a little exchange.

DSCF0801

Started to paint the door panels on the Tardis wine fridge I’ve been working on.
DSCF0808

Left at 8.30am for yoga, grabbing a nut bar from the deli on the way, because there was no food in the house.

DSC_0046

Leafless trees on a grey morning with garbage on the street really give me the winter blues.

DSC_0045

But a little vinyasa goes a long way to fixing that.

IMG_0756

Went to the food co-op to get some basics.

IMG_0757

When I got home V. informed me that there had been fraudulent charges on my credit card, so I spent some time on the phone with the bank. Ugh.

DSC_0049
Then finished painting the door panels. Vernon put on Christmas music, as he does every day between Thanksgiving and Christmas.

DSCF0810

My dad called, so I chatted with him for a while from the bed.

DSC_0053

Took a shower. Since we re-papered the bathroom walls last week, this is the view.

IMG_0832

V. and I got dressed and ready to go.

DSCF0813

Took the train from Grand Army Plaza. (We had a long back and forth about who’s camera to bring, and in the end I thought he brought his and he thought I brought mine, and we didn’t realize until this moment, so we just went with the cell phone camera).

IMG_0833

Continuing the Doctor Who theme of the day, I wore my fez and bow tie button.

IMG_0834

The man in the red glasses got on and said he was bringing the church to the subway. He played a song called “He is Awesome” on his ghetto blaster and tried to sell the cd.

IMG_0843

We got off at Astor Place, where this high rise is very quickly rising high. Those men on the edge scare me.

IMG_0844

Had some signs printed at FedEx Kinkos for the Tardis.

IMG_0845

Back on the train. Astor Place is the loudest station in NY. Every time a train goes by you have to cover your ears.

IMG_0846

Once on the Upper East Side, got on the very short line at Sabarsky.

IMG_0847

And were seated in the corner booth…
IMG_0850

with a lovely view of all the goings on.

IMG_0851

What V. ate:

IMG_0853

What I ate (celery salad):

IMG_0854

And we shared a strawberry cheesecake.

IMG_0855

Strolled over to the Met around 4.30pm.
IMG_0857
The Matisse show was only open for member previews, so we just wandered around. This lady with a big booty is from the Neolithic era. She was made more than 6000 years ago. Think about that for a second!

IMG_0858

We visited the Rembrandts:

IMG_0862

And stopped for a few Hoppers. I never read the description of this before. It says Hopper claimed he “wanted to capture the vulgar colors of cheap restaurants.” V. had just commented on how cozy and inviting it looked. Perception is a funny thing.

IMG_0860

Sat with the Singer-Sargents for a while (and you could have left me here for the rest of the night).

IMG_0863

On our way to the exit we got sidetracked by the Japanese gallery, and this poem:

IMG_0865

With its translation:

IMG_0864

Love this earthenware tray:

IMG_0866

It was about 7pm by the time we strolled across the park.

IMG_0868

Bethesda fountain. Having just watched “The Angels take Manhattan” last night it’s it was another perfect Dr. Who tribute in our day. (And do I wish I had had a real camera with which to take this shot? Yes!)!
IMG_0869

Came home and attached the newly printed signs to the Tardis. Several weeks after I started, it’s finally done! Note the wine bottle on the side…V. took it over to our friend Vikram’s house and the two of them hung out until 2am.

IMG_0873

Gogo and I snuggled up on the couch, with some tea, to watch “Brave,” but I fell asleep within the first half hour and just went to bed.

DSCF0823