I stumbled upon the recipe for this sauce a couple of years ago, and ever since then it has become a staple within our diet. At least once a week we throw whatever food we have in the fridge together to make a version of the Buddha Bowl, and it’s also our go-to meal for a quick ‘I don’t know what to have for dinner’ meal. I’ve also shared this recipe with many friends and hear rave reviews from one and all – so I can’t believe I haven’t shared it here yet!!!! I encourage to go try it tonight, you will LOVE it!!!!!!

Image

The sauce is what makes the meal – you can really pour it on anything you want, depending on what you have in the fridge.  I love it on tofu, on black beans, on sprouted mung beans and on chicken.  I love it on rice or quinoa or pearled barley, on raw veggies and steamed veggies and combinations of both.  I do find that a combination of toasted slivered almonds and sesame seeds really compliments the sauce, and we’ll also often sprinkle seaweed on top of it all.  YUM!!!!

Image

Buddha Bowl Sauce

  • 1/3 cup Nutritional Yeast
  • 2 tbsp Water
  • 3 tbsp Tamari
  • 3 tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 clove Garlic, crushed
  • 1 tbsp Tahini
  • 3/4 cup Safflower or Sunflower Oil

Place all ingredients except the oil in a blender and blend.  Then slowly pour oil in while blender is running.  Easy peasy – and so handy to have leftovers in your fridge!

I first discovered this recipe on Sensible Living, and she found it in the Whitewater Cooks Cookbook.  Enjoy!

