Spring Vegetable Risotto

Risotto is such comfort food. And apart from the time it takes to cook the rice, this is a quick and easy recipe. I forgot to buy zucchini, and they would have added a nice bit of tenderness, but I don’t think anyone really missed them. The original recipe calls for 1 1/4 cups of veggies, whereas I threw in 3 cups of mushrooms and an entire bunch of asparagus. For a while now, Mark Bittman has been advocating flipping the proportions of pasta dishes, so that they’re mostly veggies and sauce, with a little pasta thrown in for texture. I love this idea, not only for health reasons, but because the topping is really where the flavor is, and it works just as well for risotto, of course.

Whichever way you prefer to make it, this is a delicious plate of food that can be served to company or made on a weeknight for yourself, with a few leftovers for the next day.

We added a tiny bit of grated lemon zest to everyone’s plate before serving, which really highlighted the other flavors. Chefs are forever telling me to do this, and I usually forget, but it makes a big difference.

Recipe is on page 61.

