Heirloom Tomato Salad with Macadamia Cheese and Crispy Capers

Heirloom tomatoes are finally back! I’ve been eyeing this recipe for a while, waiting for them to appear at the farmer’s market. I couldn’t find arugula this weekend though, so I used a mix of baby greens and edible flowers that I found at the food co-op. Also, I had a bottle of vincotto in the cupboard, so I skipped making the balsamic reduction. Vincotto is literally cooked wine, so it doesn’t have the same acidity as cooked vinegar, but it’s syrupy and flavorful, and it worked nicely with the acidity of the tomatoes and capers.

The macadamia cheese was delicious, but when I first blended it, it came out thick and yellow, so I ended up incorporating quite a bit of water before it was light and creamy. No big deal.

The cheese recipe also makes about 2 1/2 cups, so you’ll have lots left over. Equally no big deal. Eat it on toast, or make more salad! We’ll be having it every few days until the heirloom tomatoes go away again.

Recipe is on page 40.

