Seitan Cakes

Butterhead Lettuce, Cauliflower, and Red Bell Pepper Salad

It’s been a long time since I’ve cooked from the Candle 79 cookbook. Or rather, there are a few recipes that we fell in love with (Wild Mushroom and Spring Vegetable Fricassee, Herb-Marinated Grilled Vegetables, Ginger-Seitan Dumplings) that we’ve made several times, temporarily straying from the mission to cook everything in the book. But we’re back on track, with another successful meal.

The seitan cakes were very good, but they could have used more salt than what was called for in the recipe. I didn’t have regular bread crumbs, so I used panko, which made a perfectly crunchy coating, and I served them with cashew crème fraîche (page125), but they would have been equally good with just a sprinkle of lemon juice.

For the salad, I found only romaine at the co-op. Lisa (of Project Vegan) and I, were saying the other day that some of the salad recipes here are extremely time consuming to make, which is usually not what you want from a salad. So instead of roasting the peppers, I used them raw (not a fan of roasted peppers anyway), which doesn’t seem to have done the salad any harm. I still had to roast the cauliflower, but that’s a pretty straight-up affair. The dressing has sweetness from the sun dried tomatoes, but is also tangy and spicy. I don’t know if it would do as well on a lighter salad, but it was excellent with the chickpeas and cauliflower.

Seitan cakes on page 20.

Salad on page 42.

