My friend Gillian, who lives in England, sends me links to food blogs all week and then we salivate together across the ocean! Last week she sent a link to this baked goat cheese with raspberries and walnuts from The Tomato Tart. Luckily we had friends over on Monday night and I got to make it as an appetizer. It’s so quick to prepare, and delicious. Who knew that raspberries melting into goat cheese could be so good?! Unfortunately I didn’t have any shallow ramekins to cook this in (it would have made the nut-raspberry to cheese ratio more perfect, I think). It would be a great dish to serve at party with a buffet style menu as well. Here’s what I did:

Baked Goat Cheese 

Enough chevre to fill as many ramekins as you think you’ll need (it’s filling, so each person only had a few bites at dinner)

Raspberries

Equal amounts of chopped walnuts and olive oil (The Tomato Tart used 2 tblsp. of each)

Chopped thyme (about 1/2 tsp.,  if using 2 tblsp. of nuts)

Salt and pepper

Optional honey

Press the chevre into the ramekins, leaving a little room at the top. Arrange your raspberries on top.

Mix the olive oil, walnuts and thyme. Drizzle over the cheese. Sprinkle with salt and fresh pepper.

Bake at 375 degrees for 15 minutes (I baked them in the toaster oven and had to cover with aluminum foil to prevent the nuts from burning).

Optionally drizzle with honey before serving (I omitted this step and it was great….but a little sweetness would add complexity).

