Erica suggested that we try our hands at the “Week in the Life” project initiated by Ali Edwards. We take pictures of everything we do for a week, with the aim of having a record of all the everyday things and moments that otherwise get lost. We both realized how much we wish we  had done this ten or even 20 years ago, so we’re getting started. Plus, I think it’ll be fun to see how different her life is from mine (she’s blogging hers over here) . I wish I could get a glimpse into all of my friends’ daily routines like this. Although I’m also realizing that I’m a little reluctant to blog this much about my life publicly. Oh well, I’m not doing any secret spy work, so here goes…

The morning routine starts with brushing my teeth, wetting and then drying my hair.

Wearing black for work today.

The fruit stand is up as I leave and get on the subway at 7.40 am

Reading The New Yorker while waiting for the train.

Early meeting on the Upper West Side, with a much needed stop at Starbucks. (Having read through so many people’s Week in the Life posts, I realize that the majority have a picture like this…that’s crazy…Starbucks is what unites us all? ugh!!)!

Meeting here.

Breakfast at Le Pain Quotidien….zucchini and goat cheese frittata.

Walk across Central Park to get to work. So many early bird tourists at Bethesda Fountain!

I often pass this sign on 74th street, indicating that Eleanor Roosevelt lived here for a time. Ever since reading No Ordinary Time, I’ve been a little obsessed with the Roosevelts.

Getting to work. I spent the day taking pictures of many of my co-workers. I never would have done this without this project, but how nice is it to have these?! I love working with all of these people!!

Ryan behind the bar.

Chef Valentino in the kitchen.

The morning condiment setup.

Hugo was runner for the day shift today.

David on the phones.

Alex, making juices.

Chef Eugenio, Hernan the runner for the night shift, and Hugo.

Kristina on the phones (and her awesome blog is here).

The crush to get on the subway after work. I had to let 2 trains go by before I could squeeze on.

Coming up at Grand Army Plaza, the first thing you see is this house with its Easter decorations still up (one of the upper windows still has a Christmas wreath).

Stopped at the co-op for some groceries.

Then at the wine store for some wine.

Fed the cats when I got home. Gogo has this habit of pulling one piece of food onto the floor, eating it, then repeating, while her sister just puts her face right in the bowl and chows down.

Had some raw chocolate mousse and fresh strawberries on the couch. Watched a segment of 60 minutes about a woman who is studying the chemistry of addiction. Then went to work in the kitchen.

Bought some jars at the co-op for all the random flours that are floating around my kitchen cabinets.

V. came home around 9.30 after having dinner with his friend David.

I was baking cakes when he got home.

Then checked email with Gogo on my lap.

Ended the evening watching Anthony Bourdain (I don’t like him but it’s V’s favorite show, so we bickered about it for a while) with a glass of wine.

5 more minutes of reading in bed.