Roasted Artichokes with Crispy Onion Rings

Trimming an artichoke makes a whole lot of compost. Or it would if we had a compost here in our little Brooklyn apartment. My friend had one in his college dorm. One of those plastic tubs with worms and newsprint, that you hope will decompose your kitchen waste. It never happened, and he was left with a tub of worms to dispose of in the freezing Montreal winter. I suppose it might still be better than having your artichoke waste become landfill in Staten Island or Ohio, but sadly, that’s our situation right now.

There is a great video on how to trim an artichoke here.

The hearts were tender and delicious, but the rest was still a little chewy, and I think people weren’t sure how to eat them. Only a marginal success, I would say.

The onion rings on the other hand, were delicious. I fried them an hour or so before dinner and then put them in the hot oven for another 5-6 minutes, right before serving.

Recipe is on page 9.

