Arancini with Roasted Plum tomato Sauce

Otherwise known as fried rice balls, filled with tempeh bacon and Daiya cheese. I told you I made fried goodness. They’re crispy on the outside and gooey on the inside, with a little bit of umami from the bacon. I thought I had way, way too many for 4 people (considering we also had dumplings and onion rings and artichokes and crostini), but there were none left at the end of the night (V. might have had the last two while he was doing the dishes). I used panko, which is a little coarser than regular breadcrumbs, which just means they were extra crispy. They’re a lot easier to roll and fill if your hands are a little damp.

I thought I was being clever and added some truffle oil to the rice after it was cooked, but the frying process completely eliminated the flavor. I might try drizzling a few drops on the finished arancini next time, or put some in the sauce.

