It was a few months ago that I bought a 1kg bag of amaranth, with the idea of expanding the grains we eat and increasing the nutrition in our meals. I’ve heard many rave reviews about this grain, but had yet to find a recipe to use it in. So it has sat in my pantry ever since. However, on a recent visit to the My New Roots blog, this post caught my eye and I decided it was finally time to open up that bag.

It was a very easy recipe to make, and at first I was worried that it would be too soupy but after sitting in the pot for a few minutes, most of the liquid was absorbed. It’s definitely a creamy texture, and next time I’ll add some toasted nuts and/or the coconut to add to the texture. I also didn’t love the strong coconut milk taste, but that is just personal preference – I don’t love it that much. So next time I’ll try making it with water or maybe a bit of almond milk. However, all in all, I enjoyed it as a breakfast cereal and it left me feeling full for hours!!!! One I’ll add to my morning routine.

Pumpkin Pie Amaranth Porridge

½ cup amaranth, soaked if possible (minimum 8 hours)
1 cup coconut milk, or water (you may need more if using un-soaked grains)
1/3 cup pumpkin puree
pinch of sea salt
pinch of: cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, clove (or substitute all with pumpkin pie spice)
1/3 vanilla bean pod
maple syrup to taste
1/3 cup coconut flakes, toasted

Directions:
1. Soak amaranth for as long as possible, 8 hours minimum, 24 hours is optimal.
2. Drain and rinse amaranth. Combine with coconut milk, pumpkin puree, sea salt, spices, and vanilla bean (seeds scraped, and empty bean pod). Bring to a boil, reduce to simmer, stirring often to prevent scorching on the bottom. Simmer on lowest heat for 15 minutes with the lid on (watch to see if liquid level becomes too low. If so, add a little extra coconut milk or water) Turn heat off, and let sit for 10 minutes with the lid on to thicken.
3. Sweeten with maple syrup to taste (1-2 tablespoons). Serve. Drizzle with coconut milk, sprinkle with coconut flakes.

